Stop the Mania!

Roller coaster ride inside
Can’t stop the swirling and twirling
And the whirling around
And can’t stand the sound of silence
But can’t stand the sound of sounds
That hound me and pound my mind
Into an unreasoning bind
From which I’m trying to find peace
And that new lease on life
But this is pain with no gain
And I don’t understand the demand
Of the energy surging thru my body
Is this the high-point of mania?
No rest and the best I can do is pace
As thoughts race through my brain
Like an out-of-control freight train
When all I want is relaxation
From this inexplicable excitation . . .
Stop the mania!

Leave a Reply

